Skip to page body Home Community Departments Government I Want To...

Term of Office: 3 years
Authority: Cornerstone was established through Act 682 (Greenwood), Act 648 (Edgefield), Act 720 (McCormick, and Act R503 & H2042 (Abbeville) of the Acts and Joint Resolutions of South Carolina, 1973, declaring the agency as the designed authority for alcohol and other drug abuse programming, including prevention, intervention and treatment services for Greenwood, Edgefield, McCormick, and Abbeville counties pursuant to Act No.301 of the Acts and Joint Resolutions of South Carolina, 1973, and Act 283 of the Acts and Joint Resolutions of South Carolina, 1975, known as the Local Government Acts.  And through Greenwood County Ordinance Number 96-15; Abbbeville County Ordinance Number 96-1.
Membership: The Cornerstone Boards of Commissioners is composed of twelve(12) commissioners; six (6) appointed by the Greenwood County Council, two (2) appointed by the Edgefield County Council, and one (1) appointed by the McCormick County Council. The members are appointed for terms of three (3) years and continue to serve until their successors are appointed.  Commissioners may be reappointed to the Commission.  In the case of a vacancy, the Commission will make a recommendation for appointment to the concerned County Council.
Responsibilities: Develop a comprehensive Strategic Alcohol and Drug Abuse Plan which is: 1) in accordance with South Carolina Act No. 301 of 1973; and 2) consistent with the South Carolina State Plan on Alcohol and Drug Abuse Services as required by public laws 91-616, as amended, and 92-255, as amended. Develop an operating budget each fiscal year beginning July 1st and ending June 30th, for the purpose of carrying out a comprehensive Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services. Cooperate with the South Carolina Department of Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services (DAODAS) in implementation of the State Plan on Alcohol and Other Drug Abuse Services. Employee and Executive Director to perform such duties as may be required to carry out the approved comprehensive Alcohol and Drug Abuse Plan.  Such other personnel as may be required may be employed by the Executive Director with the approval of the Commission Board.  The Executive Director and other personnel are subject only to the authority and direction of the Commission Board who designate the compensation to be paid to the Executive Director and other personnel. Review and make recommendations concerning the application of any agency for alcohol and drug abuse program funds to be utilized in Greenwood, Edgefield, McCormick or Abbeville Counties and insure that such program is consistent with the comprehensive regional alcohol and drug plan. Establish an efficient set of management and fiscal controls and as soon after the close of the fiscal year as practical, and in accordance with Section 14-3712 of South Carolina Act. 283, 1975, provide for an audit of the agency, such audit to be incorporated into the annual report of the Board of Commissioners.
Meeting Schedule: Second Tuesdays in January, March, May, July, September, and November, rotating meetings between each of the four counties served.
Staff Liaison:  Pat Boyd (864)-227-1001

Member Position Term
Dennis Erskine Vice-Chairman February 2015 - February 2018
Dennis R. Hammett Chairman February 2015 - February 2018
Dr. Floyd H. Hatcher          Member  April 2015 - April 2018
Donald Long Member March 2016 - March 2019
David Trent Member January 2015 - January 2018
Tim Duncan Member January 2015 - January 2018
Last updated: 5/22/2018 1:21:07 PM